Conquering Acorn Squash

As I previously posted, acorn squash is the vegetable of the week. I found a recipe for the intimidating vegetable! The squash actually came with cooking directions attached. Below are the directions that were given:

Micro-preheat the whole squash for 1 minute. Cut the squash in half and remove the seeds and the membranes. Microwave the squash on high, flesh down in 1/4 cup of water for about 8-10 minutes. Turn the squash over when it is fork tender. Drizzle with brown sugar, butter, honey or maple syrup. Serve each half as an individual serving. As a variation, use orange juice as a water substitute when cooking.

However, I wanted to bake the acorn squash in the oven versus cooking it in the microwave. I also wanted to stray away from using brown sugar, butter, honey or maple syrup. Most of the recipes that I found online were recipes for the sweet tooth. I wanted to bake a savory recipe so I could use the acorn squash as a side dish with my dinner. Therefore, I found this simple roasted acorn squash recipe from Eliza Domestica. Eliza also provides her own instructions to make a sweet version of the squash if you are indeed looking to satisfy that sweet tooth.

One difficulty I had preparing the acorn squash was that the squash was a lot harder to cut through that I had imagined. Make sure you have a sharp or serrated knife handy to cut through the squash. I also varied some of the recipe and eliminated the butter and the salt. The acorn squash was actually surprisingly delicious. The squash has somewhat of a sweet taste which I was not expecting. I served the squash with a side of garlic and olive oil couscous. The acorn squash would go well with any main dish as well! Here’s how it turned out!

20120202-202157.jpg

The top acorn squash half is the garlic savory recipe and the bottom half is the sweet recipe!! Both delicious!

Update: The squash is my fourth serving of fruits and vegetables for the day! One more serving to go! Yay!

Leave a Reply

